Camp NaNoWriMo: July 2017

Last year I decided that I wasn’t going to do NaNoWriMo again. There were a few reasons I gave at the time (word-counts stress me out, it’s mostly supposed to be for newbie writers, I have a day job that takes priority until someone wants to pay me for my writing) but honestly? This time last year I was in a very bad place and I was struggling to write anything at all.

This month I decided to get back on the proverbial horse and start writing novels again. Don’t get me wrong, my new found love for poetry has been a positive experience, but I do miss writing longer, fictional stories.

Down From The Tower is my main squeeze right now, as I’ve said previously, but I’m struggling to write more than a page a day, and I’m just not satisfied with that. I know I can do more. Time was I could knock out five pages without breaking a sweat, and ideally I’d like to get back to that. I’ve just gotten out of the habit, is all.

It’s a small project. Currently I’m calling it a stand-alone, but if it has a positive response I feel like there’s definitely room to make a series of it. I’m also only aiming for around 50K words, which is actually kind of perfect, because Camp NaNoWriMo starts in nine days.

When a fellow writing friend dropped me a line to ask if I’d be up for joining a cabin, I thought what the hell? Seriously, what do I have to lose at this point? Not much. What I have to gain, however, is that old, regular writing habit, and that’s something I really think it wouldn’t hurt to have help in re-cultivating in my life.

I’m excited, but a little nervous, too. It feels so much like I’ve been failing over and over again lately, so putting myself back out there has been difficult. I don’t want to fail again. There has to be a reason I can’t let this go, you know? There has to be a reason I’m still writing after all this time, after all the roadblocks and vastly disappointing outcomes of each project. I have to hope that I’ll get somewhere in the end if I just keep trying.

3 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo: July 2017

  1. I don’t know if you want advice but… upping the wordcount means writing faster and that means having a plan. Chris Fox and Rachel Aaron wrote books about that, how planning what you are going to write is the key to getting more words done. Chris Fox’s book is like a workshop program and you can get it for free on his site https://www.chrisfoxwrites.com/. As annoying as they all sound, those fast writers do have a point. You have to get faster to write more words. Hell knows how much I struggle with that myself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, exactly this! I used to knock stuff out all the time when I wrote quickly, but now it’s just taking so much concentration just to write the absolute minimum. My creative output is so disappointing right now, and I just can’t be doing with it. I’ll check out the book and the authors, thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

