Update: The Redwood War

There are different kinds of currency in the world, and as much as I’d love to have some of the traditional stuff, after a lot of thought I’ve decided I’m going to place value elsewhere and not go with the Patreon idea.

Now I know that there’s a culture amongst writers and artists where what I’m about to do is seen as a sort of betrayal. I know that we should be paid for our work, and that we should insist on it and stick together, but I feel like the circumstances I’m in give me a bit of leeway.

The Redwood Rebel did not sell.

I worked on it for three years, paid for it to be professionally edited and given beautiful cover art. I ran promotions and competitions and did interviews on other author’s websites, I did monthly adverts on Facebook and Goodreads. I networked until I was blue in the face. I promoted the heck out of it, or as best I could as a self-published author, and the only time I ever saw any traction? When I ran free kindle copy weekends.

Now I’m not saying that people didn’t enjoy it when they read it. I’ve had some bad reviews, and I’d be lying if I said they didn’t still sting a bit, but I know the majority of readers liked it. I get asked about the sequel much more frequently than I get hate mail, and that means the world to me, honestly.

What I am saying, however, is that I can’t afford to do all that again. I’m not exaggerating when I say I lost a lot of my own money publishing book one, and I genuinely can’t do that again. It’s unfortunate, but that’s just the reality of the situation.

That said, I do understand that a monthly subscription for The Royal Sentinel isn’t feasible for most people, and that at least a third of responses I had to the idea felt that I was being unfair. I would never want that, not for anything in the world. I may not be a successful author in traditional terms, but as far as supportive and dedicated readers go? Well. I am incredibly proud and happy.

The currency I choose is your good faith and enjoyment in my work. That’s why I’ve decided to post The Redwood War series to Wattpad as free content. As of right now I’m uploading a chapter a day of The Redwood Rebel, in an attempt to get some interest from possible new readers, and when that’s done I’ll start to share chapters of The Royal Sentinel, either weekly or fortnightly.

All I’d request in exchange is that you take the time to like and comment, and to share it about to anyone you think might be interested, so that when I finally write something I feel is worth another attempt at traditional publishing, I can confidently add to my resume: “I am the author of a fairly well-received web series”.

Thank you.

2 thoughts on “Update: The Redwood War

Leave a Reply

