Don’t Lose That Lovin’ Feeling

Read this, and know that the writer mentioned at the bottom of the post was me.

Many thanks to K.M. Herkes for taking the time to write this, and for making me, and hopefully many others, feel much more at ease with the aftermath of publishing.

Dawnrigger Publishing

If I ever become Queen of the World I shall require the following boxed disclaimer be posted above the “how to publish” advice on every site:

Warning: becoming a published author may suck all the joy out of writing. Proceed with caution. Take your protein pills and put your helmet on. This too shall pass. 

I don’t know if the barrage of cliches would work, but I’m forever glad I was given such a warning so I’m paying it forward. Forewarned is forearmed.

Once the first story hits the wide world, life changes forever. The irrevocable shift in identity from writer to author comes with big responsibilities attached, and learning to juggle all the new balls takes adjustment. The learning curve is especially steep for independent authors. To mix a few more metaphors into this stew, it takes a village to raise a book-baby, but many indies head into the adventure as armies of one.

I knew what to expect as much as anyone can be prepared for…

View original post 749 more words

Leave a Reply

